blog

Feeling nostalgic

20.02.2023

Greetings unknown reader, and thanks for stumbling on the first blog post of my site!

I try to update this blog a bit less unregularly as I have thus far. We'll see. On the other hand I know myself, and usually the procrastinator in me prevails. Oh well.

I had one of my late-nighters surfing the web and listening to old music again this past weekend. As usual, it ended up with me taking a nostalgia trip back to days when everything was better (suprise!).

I can't explain it but no matter how well I'm doing in my life in the present day it never feels as much as home as it used to feel in those days in the early 2000s. However, reason tells me that the human mind tends to forget about the bad stuff and only sustain the positive memories, so I suppose one day I might feel the same way about the present as well.

Sometimes when I get too deep on one of those trips I get some anxiety because I know those days and years are long gone and will never return and it'll only be downhill from here on out. It may be detrimental in the long run and opposite to what the doctor ordered but I tend to just try and drown that anxiety by even consuming more nostalgia.

Anyway, on the music front I rediscovered a band called Da Buzz and especially their hits 'Alive' and 'Wonder Where You Are'. I especially like this remix of the latter. Just listening to it brings me back to those times and floods my mind with so many memories I thought I'd already forgotten.

As a huge Harry Potter fan I got Hogwarts Legacy at launch and platinum'd it pretty much in a week. Naturally I didn't have much time to play any of the old games. Oh, I did finish another playthrough of Brothers in Arms: Earned in Blood though. Good times.

Well, there it is. I'm actually kind of proud that I managed to pour this much semi-coherent thoughts on the page. See you next time, dear reader.